Election Notices, Fayette County Election Bureau, Municipal Elections, Uncategorized

Candidates line up to file petitions in Fayette County races

The Fayette County Election Bureau saw a flurry of activity Tuesday as candidates for various county, municipal and school district races, along with those seeking a magisterial district judge post filed petitions for the upcoming spring primary.

“It has been brisk here since Friday,” said Larry Blosser, election bureau director. “And, today, we have been very busy.”

About 650 positions are up for grabs in the primary, but only 393 petitions were filed, per unofficial reports.

Those offices and positions on the ballot include the Recorder of Deeds, county treasurer, two jury commissioners and two magisterial district judge posts.

Dave Malosky, current Recorder of Deeds, did not file a petition for another term in office.

The vacancy drew three Democratic candidates and one Republican candidate.

Timothy C. Dye of South Union Township, Tracie L. Vargo of Bullskin Township and Rita J. Yantko of Menallen Township will vie for the Democratic nomination, while Soni Shaner Mancuso of Dunbar Township will run unopposed for the GOP nod.

Democrat Nancy Lee Wilson, the current county treasurer, will be the only name on the ballot as no other Democratic candidate filed a petition to challenge the incumbent. The Republican side of the ballot will also be blank as no candidate submitted their paperwork to appear in the primary contest.

Republican Janet Dean Trees of Franklin Township and Democrat Lauren Mahoney Yohman of South Union Township, the county jury commissioners, will also run unopposed in the spring election.

Current Magisterial District Judge Michael DeFino will appear as the lone candidate on both the Republican and Democratic ticket, according to the compilation of unofficial election bureau petitions. The magisterial district includes Brownsville Borough and Brownsville, Luzerne and Redstone townships.

With the announced retirement of longtime Magisterial District Judge Wendy Dennis, four candidates submitted petitions to fill the seat.

North Union Township residents Amber Shipley and Robert “Bobby” Gordon, along with Wharton Township residents Donald “Butch” Gmitter and Nathan A. Henning will vie for the Democratic nomination, with Gordon, Gmitter and Henning also appearing on the Republican ticket.

The district includes Markleysburg and Ohiopyle boroughs and Henry Clay, North Union, Stewart and Wharton townships.

Also on the ballot will be candidates for state Supreme, Superior and Commonwealth courts. The Department of State had yet to list the candidates for the positions at press time.

Blosser said challenges to the municipal petitions must be filed with the election bureau by March 14. The last day for candidates to withdraw their name from the ballot is March 22. The primary is May 16. A full list of the municipal races and the candidates for the positions are available on the county website at http://www.co.fayette.pa.us/elections.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s