election results, School Board Elections

Southmoreland School Board Race

In the Southmoreland School District three of the four incumbents who ran for another term were successful in moving on to the general election, where voters will pick four school board members.

Current board member Cheryl Shipley did not seek re­election, but Gail Rhodes, Charles Frye and Robert Callaro will have the opportunity to try and beat out newcomers James Carson and Heather Trillow Smith and former director Catherine Fike this fall.

With 100 percent of the precincts reporting, both the Fayette County and Westmoreland County combined votes show Democrats securing a spot in the fall will be Rhodes (621), Carson (615), Frye (492) and Callaro (372).

Those who didn’t make the top four on the Democratic ticket include Fike with 285 votes, Tony Lizza with 273 votes and Ryan O’Rear with 234 votes.

Carson and Rhodes were the top vote getters on the Republican ticket with 407 and 396 respectively, but Trillow Smith got the third spot with 371 votes and Fike grabbed the last spot with 355 votes. Frye followed with 353 votes, Callaro with 253, Lizza with 278 and O’Rear with 169.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s