School Board Reorganization

Southmoreland Board Reorganizes

Aimee Love will remain president of the Southmoreland board of directors while Gail Rhodes will continue on as vice president.

Rhodes will also continue in her role as the legislative chairperson, as well as the board’s PSBA liaison.

Director Heather Smith was appointed as the district’s Westmoreland Intermediate Unit representative.

Directors agreed to make a small change to their meeting schedule.

Work session meetings will continue to be held at 7 p.m. on the second Thursday of each month and voting meetings will continue to be held at 7 p.m. on the third Thursday of each month.

Directors, however, will meet for executive session matters prior to the meetings at 6:30 p.m. or before if more time is needed.

Special meetings on Jan. 24, May 23 and June 27 will be held for budget-related issues.

election results, School Board Elections

Southmoreland School Board

4 Year term, Vote for 4

  1. Gail Rhodes – 1,573
  2. James Carson – 1,516
  3. Heather Trillow Smith – 1,091
  4. Charles Frye – 1,090
  5. Catherine Fike – 987
  6. Robert Callaro – 960
Municipal Elections, School Board Elections

Southmoreland School Directors

Four seats to be attained, district is Everson and Upper Tyrone Township in Fayette County as well as Scottdale and East Huntingdon Township in Westmoreland County. The results are barring write-ins

  1. Gail Rhodes – 1573
  2. James Carson – 1556
  3. Heather-Trillow Smith – 1091
  4. Charles Frye – 1090
  5. Catherine P. Fike – 969
  6. Robert Calliaro – 960
Candidate List, Uncategorized

Candidate List – Southmoreland

SCHIOOL DIRECTORS – Southmmoreland School District

Everson Borough and Upper Tyrone Township in Fayette County and East Huntingdon Township and Scottdale Borough  in Westmoreland County

Four Year Term – Vote for Four

Gail Rhodes Gail Rhodes
James Carson James Carson
Charles Frye Heather Trillow Smith
Robert Callaro Catherine F. Fike
election results, School Board Elections

Southmoreland School Board Race

In the Southmoreland School District three of the four incumbents who ran for another term were successful in moving on to the general election, where voters will pick four school board members.

Current board member Cheryl Shipley did not seek re­election, but Gail Rhodes, Charles Frye and Robert Callaro will have the opportunity to try and beat out newcomers James Carson and Heather Trillow Smith and former director Catherine Fike this fall.

With 100 percent of the precincts reporting, both the Fayette County and Westmoreland County combined votes show Democrats securing a spot in the fall will be Rhodes (621), Carson (615), Frye (492) and Callaro (372).

Those who didn’t make the top four on the Democratic ticket include Fike with 285 votes, Tony Lizza with 273 votes and Ryan O’Rear with 234 votes.

Carson and Rhodes were the top vote getters on the Republican ticket with 407 and 396 respectively, but Trillow Smith got the third spot with 371 votes and Fike grabbed the last spot with 355 votes. Frye followed with 353 votes, Callaro with 253, Lizza with 278 and O’Rear with 169.